Happy New Year.

If we are to believe this Maya prophecy mankind’s last year has begun. So, here’s to it: We’re all gonna die!!!
Now that that’s out of the way we can get to the matter at hand, my plans for 2012. I say plans, as I am sticking to my New Year’s resolution of 2000 of not making any more New Year’s resolutions. I don’t really like to make up any crazy plans about how I want to change my life for the better and end up not doing what I set out to do.
This year, however, is a little bit different. Maybe because it’s because we’re all gonna die, but I actually think that it’s just that I feel that there’s a lot of loose ends that have to be tied up, and it’s finally time to get going.

So here’s the list of things that I’ve been putting off for far too long, with an approximation of how many months each project has been sleeping:

  1. Continue performing stand-up comedy (~3 months)
    While I haven’t been performing since the end of July I don’t think that this project has been on hold for the whole time. I have actually been writing material, and still am, but recently I’ve been slacking a bit. I do, however, want to get back on stage, and will now actively get back onto my German material, edit and re-arrange it and look for a spot on some open mic somewhere in the area. I’d also love to try out getting on stage in a nearby country, so that I can keep in touch with my English material.
  2. Release a new version of EasyLFS (~5 months)
    Work on the new version of my Linux distribution EasyLFS has been on hold since the end of July as well. I have now picked up the work and hopefully will be finally be able to get to a point where I feel that EasyLFS is ready for another release to the public. The last release, EasyLFS 0.4, has been made public in December 2007; now more than 4 years ago. There have been lots of changes since then and it would be great to get the new version released before we’re all gonna die.
  3. Write a story (~ 3 years)
    While this hasn’t actually been sleeping for 3 years it has never really started. I have started writing some sort of story, probably a short story, for a start, a couple of times since I first got the idea about 3 years ago. I love reading, and I’d love to try myself at writing a story. I have thus far always had problems that I get sidetracked while still defining the plot and the characters. Thus, this time, I think I will try it differently. I guess I will just write by feeling and see what will happen.
  4. Quit smoking (~5 years)
    While I have actually tried this a couple of times I have thus far not managed to succeed. I am hoping that now, with the help of an electronic cigarette I will be able to first completely switch from regular smokes to the electronic smoke, which already is a good step, considering that this will eliminate the intake of carbon monoxide and tar through cigarettes, and then reduce the amount of nicotine I consume through the electronic cigarette.
  5. Lose some weight (~1 year)
    2010 I have managed to lose quite a bit of weight, but then gained it again. I now want to do work some more on my health in order to lose some weight and actually keep it on a certain level. No idea what that level is, but right now I feel I just gotta get rid of some of it.

That’s pretty much it. I am at the moment working on points 1, 2, 4 and 5. Point 3 shall be resumed some time this week; maybe even later tonight. As said, these are not resolutions, but actual plans which I am working on and want to get done before we’re all gonna die.
It should be possible to get these 5 points realized within this  year. It’s not like I’m trying to find a cure for cancer or rid humanity of stupidity.

Thank you!
Dennis Wronka

