Tomorrow, on Saturday, July 23rd, I will be having my last regular show at the TakeOut Comedy Club Hong Kong. It’s not my last show, that will be opening the 8PM show for Wali Collins on July 30th, but it’s the last regular show with some of the other guys from the club. The last show where people do not come to see a pro from the US, but us locally bred comics. Or maybe even me. Yes, that actually happened once. Or at least there is one instance I know of. And it certainly is something special. My farewell show.

There being only 1 days left before this show I think it is time to think about the past, the present and, of course, the future.

My stand-up “career”, if you want to call it that, started around 2.5 years ago. Little did I know what to expect, and I actually went in expecting nothing. That way, I figured, I wouldn’t be disappointed if it didn’t work out.
But it did work out. I became one of the regular comics at TakeOut Comedy, did more or less a show a week, sometimes even 2, seldom none, competed in the Comedy Festival, met quite a few professional comedians from the States, tried to learn from their advice and even opened for a few of them, performed during our Charity Comedythons (doing 4 sets on one day this year, more here).

But I don’t want to go into all the details of what I’ve done in comedy thus far, all the gory details can be found in the articles linked above and this one. I pretty much just want to say how grateful I am to have been given the opportunity to be part of the TakeOut Comedy family and that I’m gonna miss these guys a whole lot.

This of course does not mean that I will stop performing, and also that I will never hit the stage at TakeOut Comedy again. Sure as hell I’m gonna be back to visit and then of course I’m going to show up and see if I can have a special guest appearance. And I’m actually hoping that I can manage to participate in the 2012 HK Comedy Festival. And of course I will try to get a foot into the comedy scene in Germany. From what I have found on the Internet there seems to be an English speaking comedy club in Cologne, which is about 45 minutes from my home. That is quite convenient as it’s close by and I can just bring a lot of my already existing material. And I will try to see that I start writing material in German and find a way into the German speaking comedy scene. But there I’ll need to try to find a platform in my area. Always making the way to Berlin for this seems a bit much.

Tonight we’re having TakeOut Comedy All-Stars, and the word is we’re having 50+ reservations already. I’m planning to have a lot of fun tonight and maybe try out one or two small new bits which may fit in quite nicely with some of the current stuff. And then I gotta get ready for the big show tomorrow night. I hope it’ll be a night to remember. I’d love to leave in style.

Thank you!
Dennis Wronka

